Why fantasy fiction

Why do I love fantasy fiction? How could I not?

It is the one place I know that has consistently embraced the weird! It’s a place of open-armed, all weirdos welcome. Where the odd is celebrated and the bizarre enjoyed. In the stories the heroes can be nobility, or they could be pig herders, scullions, prostitutes, in possession of a more Tookish side, the orphan under the stairs, a farmer in a desert, smugglers in brown coats, the last of their race, school children…and the list is forever, getting more interesting with each tale as it is told. (How many references did you get without looking?)

As a small child I battled with dyslexia, so much so that I could barely read until I was in the 4th grade. Until I worked with an eye doctor who helped me some, reading was torture, ending in tears and frustration. I even think I threw a book once…Once the curse was lifted, I picked up the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and the world became a different place. I was transported from my home and found  myself talking to lions and defeating witches. Instantly I became addicted. Some books I wished I could live in, while others were more a place to live an exciting life while using the real world for recovery time.

For a random weirdo who never grew out of their awkward years, the world of fantasy has been my second home. Everyone else who lives here with me are pretty great too. Geeks are fantastic company (unless you get into a debate over which was the better Dr. or which of Buffy’s boyfriends was your favorite), and the best part is that geekiness is contagious!

True story: once a few years ago I was dating a non-geek who thought my Marvel love a silly thing. Day and night she would hassle me about it. Finally, I dragged her with me to see whatever the latest Marvel movie was in theaters. We were walking out of the theater, me glowing with joy and her with a confused look on her face.
“So…I wouldn’t mind seeing that again.”
HA! And another was claimed for all geek kind!

Sure a few geeks are even odd by our standards, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t accepted. It’s hard to be judgmental of someone’s Zelda tattoo if you have a unicorn on your wall. Or someone’s furry costume when you have a Star Trek onesie in your closet.

Beyond that, there is one of my all time favorite quotes:

“Fairy tales are more than true: Not because they tell us dragons exist, but because they tell us dragons can be beaten.” G.K. Chesterton.

There is always some hero in fantasy fiction who will best our monsters and save the day, giving nobler thoughts to next generations, because who wouldn’t want to save the world!

Jill

P.S. Here is a teaser of the first page, recently completed of Seraphim City volume 1

Leave a Reply

